Past Honors & Awards Winners

2014-2015 Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Winners

Scott Barringer, M.Ed., LAT, ATC, CAA
Carolinas Healthcare System
Concord, NC
Peter Kotz, MS, ATC, CES
Our Lady of Good Counsel High School
Olney, MD
Dave Pawlowski, M.Ed., ATC
Vice President of Program, Special Olympics of Virginia
Richmond, VA
Jennifer D. Rheeling, MS, ATC
District of Columbia Public Schools
District of Columbia
Vince Stilger, HSD, ATC
Athletic Training Program Director
West Virginia University
Morgantown, WV
Bonnie L. Van Lunen, Ph.D., ATC, FNATA
Graduate Athletic Training Program Director
Old Dominion University
Norfolk, VA

2014-2015 Service Award Winners

Brett Wood M.Ed., ATC
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Charlotte, NC
Theresa M. Zablocki , MS , ATC
Athletic Trainer – Norfolk Public Schools
Norfolk, VA
Robert Cable, M.S., ATC
Fairmount State University
Fairmount , WV
Ken Brown, M.Ed., ATC
Northern Durham H.S.
Durham, NC
Lance Fujiwara M.Ed., ATC
Associate Athletic Director for Sports Medicine & Athletic Trainer
Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, VA

Hall of Fame Class of 2014

Nancy Burke
Director at Public Safety Sports Medicine
Athletic Trainer at Fairfax County Police Department
Fairfax, Virginia

Read Bio HERE

Steven Cole
Associate Athletics Director, Internal Affairs
College of William and Mary
Williamsburg, Virginia

Read Bio HERE

Daniel Hooker
Staff Physical Therapist, Retired Associate Director of Sports Medicine
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Read Bio HERE

Patrick Lamboni
Head Athletic Trainer
Salisbury University
Salisbury, Maryland

Read Bio HERE

2013-2014 Service Award Winners

Mike Hanley
Assistant Athletics Director / Medical Services
East Carolina University
Greenville, North Carolina

Scott Johnson
Associate Athletic Trainer
Old Dominion University
Norfolk, Virginia

Barbara Long
Assistant Professor and Chair, Health and Human Sciences
Director of Athletic Training
Bridgewater College
Bridgewater, Virginia

Denise Massie
Assistant Professor
Shenandoah University
Winchester, Virginia

TJ Morgan
Head Athletic Trainer
Archbishop Spalding High School
Severn, Maryland

John Reynolds
Head Athletic Trainer
Marshall High School
Fairfax County, Virginia

Jennifer Rheeling
Head Athletic Trainer
H.D. Woodson High School
Washington DC

Hall of Fame Class of 2013


Terry O’Brien, MEd, ATC
TOSMC Services Consultant
Cockeysville, Maryland

Read Bio HERE

2012-2013 Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Winners


Dr. Jim Berry, ATC, SCAT, NREMT
Athletic Trainer Myrtle Beach High School
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina



Lori Bristow, MEd, LAT, ATC
Associate Athletic Director/Athletic Trainer at Gilman School
Baltimore, Maryland


Marty Sataloff, LAT, ATC 
McDonogh School
Owings Mills MD 21117


2012-2013 Service Award Winners

David McAllister, MAEd, LAT, ATC
Head Athletic Trainer Cary Academy
Cary, North Carolina


Renée Cork, MED, ATC
Assistant Athletic Director
The College of William & Mary
Williamsburg, Virginia

Amy Magladry MEd, ATC/LAT
Allied Health /Athletic Trainer
Eastern Technical High School
Baltimore, Maryland

Thaddeus L. Moore, Jr., MA, ATC
Head Athletic Trainer Washington College
Chestertown, Maryland


Hall of Fame Class of 2012

Richard Bancells, MS, ATC
Head Athletic Trainer                         
Baltimore Orioles                                          
Baltimore, Maryland 

Jon Almquist, ATC, VATL
Administrator, Fairfax County 
Public Schools Athletic Training Program 
Fairfax, Virginia
Robert Lester, MA, ATC
Physician Extender
Triad Neurosurgical
Winston Salem, North Carolina

    2011-2012 Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Winners     


John Bielawski, MHM, LAT, ATC
Regional Director/Sports Medicine
Arnold Palmer Sports Health 
Center @ UMH
Baltimore, Maryland


2011-2012 Service Award Winners  


Tom Kuster, MS, ATC, PES, CES
Assistant Athletic Director for Sports Medicine
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, Virginia



The Inaugural Class of the District III Honors and Awards
were honored on May 13, 2011 at the MAATA Annual Meeting in Reston, Virginia.

From left to right are:
Mark White, MS, ATC - MAATA Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer
Randy Meador, MS, ATC - MAATA Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer
John Lopez, ATC - MAATA Hall of Fame
Al Proctor, AT - MAATA Hall of Fame
Marty Bradley, MS, ATC - MAATA Hall of Fame
John Spiker, PT, ATC - MAATA Hall of Fame
Lori Bristow, ATC - MAATA Service Award

Those grandfathered into the MAATA Hall of Fame from the NATA Hall of Fame (not pictured) were: Paul Grace, Dave Parrin, Bill Prentice, Warren Ariail, Fred Hoover, Andy Clawson, Rod Walters, and Joe Gieck.

See the MAATA AWARDS Class of 2011

See additional District III Honor and Award pictures



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software